Christian Brazier Maj Trio

This trio invites you to a journey around some of the compositions by double bass player Christian Brazier. Selected among his albums "Pérégrinations", "Le Temps d'un rêve", "Mémoire vive" or "Circumnavigation", they will be the opportunity for a tribute to sailor and writer Bernard Moitessier. This new encounter with Ahmad Compaoré and Ed Hosdikian - the two fellows from the trio Oriental Fusion - will take you along unknown shores filled with melodic phrases and improvised digressions. Immediate boarding...!

« If the melodic outline is original enough to capture attention, one approves these musics firstly in that they are worthy, proud, radiant, providing emotion and hope but also terrible mourning... » - Jazz Magazine

CHRISTIAN BRAZIER: double bass, compositions
Trained at the Conservatoire National de Toulon and the Conservatoire National de Région de Marseille, Christian Brazier defines himself mainly as an improviser in his areas of expertise: jazz, improvised music and traditional music. He has performed alongside Akosh S., Barre Phillips, Charles Tyler, Denis Charles and Famoudou Don Moyé. Moreover, he is the leader of his own musical ensembles in which he develops a work of personal compositions, as can be seen from seven albums released between 1997 and 2015. He also favours encounters with artists in dance, poetry, theatre or documentary films for whom he writes the scores.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ: drums
Of Egyptian and Burkinabé origins, Ahmad Compaoré confirms his singular talent alongside Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri or Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour. With a constant craving for exploration and discovery, he shares his creativeness between dance, theatre and cinema. Twice recipient of the Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs" award, he stayed in India and in Japan as part of residencies of creation. Free from boundaries, he equally enjoys the most extreme experiences in alternative and improvised music, jazz and fusion.

ED HOSDIKIAN: saxophone
Original, sensibly wild and label-free, the style of this musician is unique. After classical studies at the Conservatoire de Marseille, Ed Hosdikian immersed himself in the world of regional rock bands, before setting off to the United States where he practised jazz at the renowned Berklee School of Music. Back in France, he returned to his roots through the creation of the trio Oriental Fusion in 1995. However, he constantly seeks new musical experiences through collaborations with artists like Jacques Higelin, Michel Petrucciani, Nina Simone, Fred Frith, Jamaaladeen Tacuma and Youssou N'Dour.

Christian Brazier Maj Trio

Ce trio vous invite à un voyage autour de quelques-unes des compositions du contrebassiste Christian Brazier. Choisies parmi ses albums "Pérégrinations", "Le Temps d'un rêve", "Mémoire vive" ou "Circumnavigation", elles seront l'occasion d'un hommage au navigateur et écrivain Bernard Moitessier. Cette rencontre inédite avec Ahmad Compaoré et Ed Hosdikian - les deux complices du trio Oriental Fusion - vous emmènera sur les rives inconnues de thèmes mélodiques et de digressions improvisées. Embarquement immédiat...!

« Si les contours mélodiques sont suffisamment originaux pour captiver l'attention, on adhère à ces musiques d'abord en ce qu'elles sont dignes, fières, radieuses, porteuses d'élan et d'espoir, mais aussi de deuils terribles... » - Jazz Magazine

CHRISTIAN BRAZIER : contrebasse, compositions
Diplômé du Conservatoire National de Toulon et du Conservatoire National de Région de Marseille, Christian Brazier se définit avant tout comme un improvisateur dans ses domaines de prédilection : le jazz, la musique improvisée et les musiques traditionnelles. On a pu l'entendre aux côtés de Akosh S., Barre Phillips, Charles Tyler, Denis Charles et Famoudou Don Moyé. De plus, il dirige ses propres formations au sein desquelles il développe un travail de compositions personnelles, comme en témoignent sept albums produits entre 1997 et 2015. Il privilégie également les rencontres avec des artistes issus de la danse, de la poésie, du théâtre ou du documentaire pour lesquels il écrit des musiques.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ : batterie
D'origine égypto-burkinabé, Ahmad Compaoré confirme son talent singulier aux côtés de Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri ou la chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Dans un souci permanent d'exploration et de découverte, il partage sa créativité entre danse, théâtre et cinéma. Deux fois lauréat Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs", il a séjourné en Inde et au Japon dans le cadre de résidences de création. Hors de tout cloisonnement, il mène en parallèle les expériences les plus extrêmes dans la musique expérimentale et improvisée, le jazz et la fusion.

ED HOSDIKIAN : saxophone
Original, sagement sauvage et sans étiquette, le style de ce musicien est unique. Après des études classiques au Conservatoire de Marseille, Ed Hosdikian s'immerge dans l'univers des groupes de rock de la région, puis va s'exiler aux États-Unis où il travaillera le jazz à la célèbre Berklee School of Music. De retour en France, il retrouve ses racines grâce à la création en 1995 du trio Oriental Fusion. Il poursuit toutefois sa quête de rencontres et de partage en accompagnant des artistes comme Jacques Higelin, Michel Petrucciani, Nina Simone, Fred Frith, Jamaaladeen Tacuma et Youssou N'Dour.