Desperate Monkeys

Guitarist Jean-Marc Montera and drummer Ahmad Compaoré have known each other for 25 years. Their collaboration dates back from 1990 when they are brought to work together on the creation of the rock opera "Helter-Skelter" by Fred Frith, then in Marseilles for an eight-month residency: an unlikely encounter around an insane project! Ever since, their path has been marked by concerts, creations and various collaborations.

In 2000, Ahmad is called upon by Jean-Marc and dancer Michèle Ricozzi (collective Skalen) to create a score for the performance "WalkAbout Stalk" at the Dansem festival. In 2003, he is involved in the creation of "La Mer Intérieure, Voix-Algérie", a musical play by Frédérique Wolf-Michaux: conducted by Jean-Marc, the score is improvised at each performance, thus creating a "sound piece" echoeing and blending in with the "visual play". The same year, Ahmad is invited to the Nuit d’Hiver festival held at the GRIM (Improvisation and Music Research Group) managed by Jean-Marc Montera: he gives a praised solo performance and an unexpected duet with percussionist Pablo Cueco. In 2005, Ahmad takes part in the creation of "Opus Mêkhanê" in Limoges, an orchestral piece written by Gilles Colliard and Jean-Marc Montera mixing classical, contemporary and improvised music.

More recently, the collaboration between the two Marseilles-based musicians has taken a closer turn with their project DESPERATE MONKEYS, mainly as a duo or a trio with guest musicians (Ed Hosdikian, André Jaume, Louis Sclavis...). The duo is the form in which their common past can express itself to the full but also the one that gives free rein to all experimentations. A punchy music that feeds on all music styles exposing themselves to diversity and not afraid to face all kinds of differences.

JEAN-MARC MONTERA: guitars, objects, electronics
Co-founder and artistic director of the GRIM, Jean-Marc Montera comes from the rock world. Nicknamed the « John Lee Hooker of noise », he draws on the whole range of amplified and acoustic strings, resonance, percussion, distortions, extensions and all types of diversions to evoke a world of abstract sounds. Since the 1970s, he has experienced cross-disciplinary exchanges with other artistic fields (theatre or choreographic creations, film scores). His most notable collaborations include Fred Frith, Chris Cutler, Barre Phillips, Thurston Moore, Michel Doneda, Jean-François Pauvros and Lee Ranaldo.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ: drums, percussion, sampler
Of Egyptian and Burkinabé origins, Ahmad Compaoré confirms his singular talent alongside Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri or Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour. With a constant craving for exploration and discovery, he shares his creativeness between dance, theatre and cinema. Twice recipient of the Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs" award, he lived in India and in Japan as part of residencies of creation. Free from boundaries, he equally enjoys the most extreme experiences in alternative and improvised music, jazz and fusion.

Desperate Monkeys

Le guitariste Jean-Marc Montera et le batteur Ahmad Compaoré se connaissent depuis 25 ans. Leur collaboration remonte à 1990 lorsqu'ils sont amenés à travailler ensemble à la création de l'opéra-rock "Helter-Skelter" de Fred Frith, alors en résidence à Marseille pendant 8 mois : une rencontre improbable autour d'un projet insensé ! Depuis, leur parcours est jalonné de concerts, créations et collaborations diverses.

En 2000, Ahmad est sollicité par Jean-Marc et la danseuse Michèle Ricozzi (collectif Skalen) pour réaliser la conception musicale de la performance "WalkAbout Stalk" au festival Dansem. En 2003, Ahmad participe à la création théâtrale et musicale "La Mer Intérieure, Voix-Algérie" de Frédérique Wolf-Michaux : la musique, sous la direction de Jean-Marc Montera, est improvisée à chaque représentation, créant ainsi un "théâtre sonore" qui répond et se fond au "théâtre visuel". La même année, Ahmad est invité au festival Nuit d'Hiver du GRIM (Groupe de Recherche et d'Improvisation Musicales), dirigé par Jean-Marc Montera : il y fait une prestation solo remarquée et un duo inattendu avec Pablo Cueco. En 2005, Ahmad participe à la création de "Opus Mêkhanê" à Limoges, une oeuvre pour orchestre de Gilles Colliard et Jean-Marc Montera, réunissant musique classique, contemporaine et improvisée.

Plus récemment, les deux musiciens marseillais se sont orientés vers une collaboration plus personnelle avec le projet DESPERATE MONKEYS, principalement en duo ou en trio avec des musiciens invités (Ed Hosdikian, André Jaume, Louis Sclavis...). Le duo est la forme où leur passé commun s'exprime totalement mais aussi celle qui laisse libre cours à toutes les expérimentations. Une musique énergique qui se nourrit de toutes celles qui donnent prise à la mixité et ne craignent pas de se confronter aux différences de toutes sortes.

JEAN-MARC MONTERA : guitares, objets, électronique
Co-fondateur et directeur artistique du GRIM, Jean-Marc Montera est issu du rock. Surnommé le « John Lee Hooker du noise », il exploite tout le registre des cordes amplifiées et acoustiques, résonances, percussions, distorsions, extensions et détournements en tous genres, évoquant un monde sonore abstrait. Depuis les années 1970, il multiplie les rencontres avec d'autres univers artistiques (créations théâtrales ou chorégraphiques, musiques de films). Il collabore notamment avec Fred Frith, Chris Cutler, Barre Phillips, Thurston Moore, Michel Doneda, Jean-François Pauvros et Lee Ranaldo.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ : batterie, percussions, sampler
D'origine égypto-burkinabé, Ahmad Compaoré confirme son talent singulier aux côtés de Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri ou la chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Dans un souci permanent d'exploration et de découverte, il partage sa créativité entre danse, théâtre et cinéma. Deux fois lauréat Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs", il a séjourné en Inde et au Japon dans le cadre de résidences de création. Hors de tout cloisonnement, il mène en parallèle les expériences les plus extrêmes dans la musique expérimentale et improvisée, le jazz et la fusion.