Bibi Ahmed 4tet

Created in 1996 by Nigerien guitarist Bibi Ahmed, Group Inerane (Sublime Frequencies label) is representative of the Tuareg revolutionary music that sweeps over the Sahara desert. Their music is a political weapon, inspired by the rebel musicians from the Libyan refugee camps in the 1980s and 1990s. Eager for encounters and innovations, the group members evolve over time. As part of a residency of creation in Marseilles in 2014, organised by L'Embobineuse to record an album, a new band is born: BIBI AHMED 4TET *.

It gathers two members of Group Inerane - the enigmatic guitar hero Bibi Ahmed and his fellow Ikali Adam - and two Marseilles-based musicians, drummer Ahmad Compaoré and bass player Aurélien Arnoux. With an authentic view to explore their respective musical backgrounds, they deliver a unique blend of rock, blues, folk and Tuareg tradition, amplified by electric guitars with psychedelic overtones that make it unrivalled. At the crossroads of contemporary and traditional music, a hypnotic blues like an antithesis to formatted "world music".

BIBI AHMED & IKALI ADAM: electric guitars, voice
A Tuareg musician of Nigerien nationality, Bibi Ahmed created Group Inerane aged 17, carrying the rich tradition of Tamasheq guitar songs for another generation. In keeping with the great ensembles of Tuareg music (Tinariwen, Terakaft, Tamikrest), the band is very active in the Sahara and in West Africa. If their background is inseperable from political turmoil and personal tragedy, their music still sounds like what it started out as: namely social music intended for dancing and celebrations, with trance-inducing exuberant songs, incarnation of the Tuareg's voice for hope and equality. Representatives of a thousand-year-old culture, integral part of the heritage of humanity, Bibi Ahmed and Ikali Adam carry a richness that needs to be passed on to anyone able to grasp its inexpressible treasures. And today in France and in Europe, a wide audience is willing to appreciate this authenticity shaped by the desert winds...

AHMAD COMPAORÉ: drums
Of Egyptian and Burkinabé origins, Ahmad Compaoré confirms his singular talent alongside Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri or Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour. With a constant craving for exploration and discovery, he shares his creativeness between dance, theatre and cinema. Twice recipient of the Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs" award, he stayed in India and in Japan as part of residencies of creation. Free from boundaries, he equally enjoys the most extreme experiences in alternative and improvised music, jazz and fusion.

AURÉLIEN ARNOUX: electric bass
Passionate about free jazz and blues, Aurélien Arnoux was trained at The New School in New-York following his encounter with improviser and double bass player Barre Phillips. Back in Marseilles, he won the First Prize of the Jazz class at the Conservatoire National de Région. He gets involved in multidisciplinary projects (music, dance, theatre) with companies such as Les Bancs Publics, Incidence and La Force Molle. He has collaborated with Raphaël Imbert, Rez Abbasi, Philippe Renault, Marion Rampal and Mama Ohandja among others, as well as experimental bands like Das Simple, Oust! and Manuchello.

* Created with Jules Bernable on bass.

Bibi Ahmed 4tet

Créé en 1996 par le guitariste nigérien Bibi Ahmed, Group Inerane (label Sublime Frequencies) est devenu emblématique de la musique révolutionnaire touareg qui balaie le désert du Sahara. Leur musique est une arme politique, inspirée par les musiciens rebelles des camps de réfugiés libyens dans les années 1980 et 1990. Avides de rencontres et d'innovations, les membres du groupe évoluent au fil du temps. Dans le cadre d'une résidence de création à Marseille en 2014, à l'initiative de L'Embobineuse pour l'enregistrement d'un album, une nouvelle formation voit le jour : BIBI AHMED 4TET *.

Elle réunit deux membres du Group Inerane - le guitar hero énigmatique Bibi Ahmed et son complice Ikali Adam - et deux musiciens marseillais, le batteur Ahmad Compaoré et le bassiste Aurélien Arnoux. Dans un souci authentique d'explorer leurs univers musicaux respectifs, ils nous livrent un mélange unique de rock, blues, folk et tradition touareg, amplifié par des guitares électriques aux accents psychédéliques qui le rendent incomparable. Au carrefour des musiques actuelles et traditionnelles, un blues hypnotique comme une antithèse de la "world music" formatée.

BIBI AHMED & IKALI ADAM : guitares électriques, voix
Musicien touareg de nationalité nigérienne, Bibi Ahmed crée Group Inerane à 17 ans, revisitant la riche tradition des chansons écrites en tamasheq pour la nouvelle génération. Dans la lignée des grands ensembles de musique touareg (Tinariwen, Terakaft, Tamikrest), la formation est très active au Sahara et en Afrique de l'Ouest. Si leur parcours est indissociable des tourmentes politiques et des tragédies personnelles, leur musique ressemble toujours à ce qu'elle était à ses débuts : une musique sociale destinée à la danse et aux réjouissances, avec des chants exubérants propices à la transe, incarnation du message touareg d'espoir et d'égalité. Représentants d'une culture millénaire, partie intégrante du patrimoine de l'humanité, Bibi Ahmed et Ikali Adam sont porteurs d'une richesse qui doit se communiquer à tous ceux capables d'en saisir les trésors indicibles. Et le public est nombreux aujourd'hui en France et en Europe à vouloir goûter de cette authenticité forgée par les vents du désert...

AHMAD COMPAORÉ : batterie
D'origine égypto-burkinabé, Ahmad Compaoré confirme son talent singulier aux côtés de Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri ou la chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Dans un souci permanent d'exploration et de découverte, il partage sa créativité entre danse, théâtre et cinéma. Deux fois lauréat Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs", il a séjourné en Inde et au Japon dans le cadre de résidences de création. Hors de tout cloisonnement, il mène en parallèle les expériences les plus extrêmes dans la musique expérimentale et improvisée, le jazz et la fusion.

AURÉLIEN ARNOUX : basse électrique
Passionné de free jazz et de blues, Aurélien Arnoux se forme à The New School de New-York suite à sa rencontre avec le contrebassiste improvisateur Barre Phillips. De retour à Marseille, il obtient le Premier Prix de la classe de Jazz au Conservatoire National de Région. Il s'implique dans des projets pluridisciplinaires (musique, danse, théâtre) auprès des compagnies Les Bancs Publics, Incidence et La Force Molle. Il a notamment collaboré avec Raphaël Imbert, Rez Abbasi, Philippe Renault, Marion Rampal et Mama Ohandja ou des groupes de la scène expérimentale comme Das Simple, Oust! et Manuchello.

* Créé avec Jules Bernable à la basse.