Nafas

NAFAS means « breath » in literary Arabic. Vital breath, it is the force that nurtures, inspires and creates. The trio has imagined an eclectic and mixed jazz transcending cultures and social belonging. The musicians play along, explore the subtlety of rhythms and sounds, setting them free to create a world where they can be recoded at any moment.

« Itinéraires », the journey is more obvious here than anywhere else. Open up new perspectives not forgetting to feed on the past, one witnesses a rather touching reunion, more in tune with its time. Clearly, the distinctive colour of the album opens the door to a second breath, offering a broad range of almost tactile sensations. With its aerial and tribal rhythm, the languid saxophone or the hypnotic bass, we enter a world organic by its intensity. Or we quiver listening to some tracks that bring out a delicacy of their own: in the end, a very pleasant mix of genres.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ: drums, percussion
Of Egyptian and Burkinabé origins, Ahmad Compaoré confirms his singular talent alongside Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri or Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour. With a constant craving for exploration and discovery, he shares his creativeness between dance, theatre and cinema. Twice recipient of the Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs" award, he stayed in India and in Japan as part of residencies of creation. Free from boundaries, he equally enjoys the most extreme experiences in alternative and improvised music, jazz and fusion.

FRED PICHOT: saxophone, flute, electronics
All together musician, composer and arranger, Fred Pichot performs within several bands: Namaste !, BÖGÖ and La Familia, among others. A prolific and versatile artist, he enjoys various collaborations in jazz, electro and traditional music. His interest for jazz and ethnic music, as well as his curiosity about the evolution of electronic instruments, lead him to try out original sound combinations.

SYLVAIN TERMINIELLO: electric bass
Trained at the Conservatoire de Cavaillon in Jeff Corallini's jazz class, Sylvain Terminiello quickly joined various local groups and took a double bass course with Michel Zenino. An eclectic musician (jazz, rock, world, electro, pop), he performs within several bands (Namaste !, One Shot Lili, The Kitchen's Tales, ) and collaborates with international artists (Natalia M. King, Paul di Anno).

Nafas

NAFAS signifie « souffle » en arabe littéraire. Souffle vital, c'est la force qui anime, inspire et crée. Membres du collectif Musique Rebelle, Ahmad Compaoré, Fred Pichot et Sylvain Terminiello ont imaginé un jazz éclectique et métissé, transcendant les cultures et les appartenances. Le trio se prête au jeu, explore la subtilité des rythmes et des sons, les affranchissant pour créer un univers où ils peuvent être recodés à tout moment.

Entre free jazz, fusion et musiques du monde, NAFAS parcourt les rives du bassin méditerranéen, nourri d'influences orientales, afrobeat ou klezmer. Mêlant compositions originales et thèmes traditionnels revisités, le répertoire est porté par l'improvisation et agrémenté d'une touche électro. Comme un dialogue entre musique savante et populaire où la tradition interroge la modernité...

AHMAD COMPAORÉ : batterie, percussions
D'origine égypto-burkinabé, Ahmad Compaoré confirme son talent singulier aux côtés de Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri ou la chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Dans un souci permanent d'exploration et de découverte, il partage sa créativité entre musique, danse, théâtre et art numérique. Deux fois lauréat Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs", il a séjourné en Inde et au Japon dans le cadre de résidences de création. Hors de tout cloisonnement, il mène en parallèle les expériences les plus extrêmes dans la musique expérimentale et improvisée, le jazz et la fusion.

FRED PICHOT : saxophones, flûte, effets
A la fois musicien, compositeur et arrangeur, Fred Pichot évolue au sein de plusieurs formations : Namaste !, BÖGÖ et La Familia, entre autres. Artiste prolifique aux talents divers, il multiplie les collaborations dans le jazz, l'électro et la musique traditionnelle. Son intérêt pour le jazz et les musiques ethniques, ainsi que sa curiosité pour les évolutions de la lutherie électronique, le conduisent à expérimenter de savoureux mélanges sonores.

SYLVAIN TERMINIELLO : basse
Formé au Conservatoire de Cavaillon au sein de la classe du bassiste Jeff Corallini, Sylvain Terminiello intègre rapidement divers groupes régionaux et poursuit une formation de contrebassiste avec Michel Zenino. Musicien éclectique (jazz, rock, world, électro, pop), il évolue dans plusieurs formations (Namaste !, One Shot Lili, The Kitchen’s Tales) et collabore avec des artistes internationaux (Natalia M. King, Paul di Anno).