Temporament

TEMPORAMENT is a dance-music duet by Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour (MA'AT Company). At the beginning, her intention was to create a  piece on the connection between music and dance. Between musician and dancer, who leads the other, who controls the other? Eventually, the relationship between man and woman prevailed. A duet full of chasings and rebellion: the dancer and her musician - percussionist Ahmad Compaoré - will provoke, arouse and confront one another in a throbbing and electric hand-to-hand struggle. This violence reflects the condition of artist as well as woman in present-day Egypt.

The multiple images and meanings keep ambiguity alive, giving way to several levels of understanding through humour and double-entendre, but the piece does not omit to call into question all the aspects of feminine gender, the relation between man and woman, between music and dance, and their respective tempos:
- The link East-West
- The link body-instrument
- The link oppression-seduction
- The place of women in Mediterranean societies

Created in 2002 at the Dansem festival in Marseilles, winner of a Jury Prize in 2004 at the Cairo International Contemporary Dance Festival, TEMPORAMENT was presented at various festivals worldwide. In March 2009, an updated version was shown at the Arabesque: Arts of the Arab World festival in Washington D.C. 

KARIMA MANSOUR: choreography, dance
Born in Cairo, Karima Mansour started Western classical and modern dance at the age of five. After a diploma at the Cairo Film Institute in 1991, she pursued her training at the famous London Contemporary Dance School. Back in Cairo in 1997, she dedicates herself to teaching dance. In 1999, she formed MA’AT for Contemporary Dance, the first independent dance company in Egypt, for which she creates a dozen choreographic performances. Trained in Anglo-Saxon techniques and influenced by Merce Cunningham, she has not forgotten she is Egyptian first of all, searching for a personal language between these various influences and her own culture, without ever becoming cliché or folk.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ: composition, live music
Of Egyptian and Burkinabé origins, Ahmad Compaoré is a musician of freedom. He confirms his singular talent alongside Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri or Egyptian choreographer Karima Mansour. With a constant craving for exploration and discovery, he shares his creativeness between dance, theatre and cinema. Twice recipient of the Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs" award, he stayed in India and in Japan as part of residencies of creation. Free from boundaries, he equally enjoys the most extreme experiences in alternative and improvised music, jazz and fusion.

Temporament

TEMPORAMENT est un duo danse-musique conçu par la chorégraphe et danseuse égyptienne Karima Mansour (Cie MA'AT). Au départ, son intention était de créer une pièce sur la relation entre la musique et la danse. Entre musicien et danseur, qui suit qui, qui contrôle qui ? Finalement, c'est le rapport entre homme et femme qui s'est imposé. Un duo plein de poursuites et de révolte : la danseuse et son musicien - le percussionniste Ahmad Compaoré - vont se provoquer, se confronter, s'affronter dans un corps-à-corps pulsé et électrique. Cette violence reflète à la fois la situation d'artiste et de femme dans l'Egypte d'aujourd'hui.

La multiplicité des images et des sens cultivent une certaine ambiguïté, laissant la place à plusieurs niveaux de lecture de par l'humour et le double sens, mais n'omet pas de problématiser d'un même mouvement tous les aspects du féminin, le rapport homme-femme, le rapport musique-danse et leurs tempos respectifs :
- Le rapport Orient-Occident
- Le rapport corps-instrument
- Le rapport oppression-séduction
- La place de la femme dans les sociétés méditerranéennes

Créé en 2002 au festival Dansem à Marseille, couronné d'un Prix du Jury en 2004 au Festival International de Danse Contemporaine du Caire, TEMPORAMENT a été présenté lors de nombreux festivals internationaux. En mars 2009, une version remaniée est donnée au festival Arabesque : Arts of the Arab World à Washington D.C.

KARIMA MANSOUR : chorégraphie, danse
Née au Caire, Karima Mansour a débuté la danse classique et moderne occidentale à l'âge de 5 ans. Après un diplôme de l'Institut du Film du Caire en 1991, elle poursuit son apprentissage à la prestigieuse London Contemporary Dance School. De retour au Caire en 1997, elle se consacre à l'enseignement de la danse. En 1999, elle crée la compagnie MA'AT, première compagnie de danse contemporaine indépendante en Egypte, sous laquelle elle signe une douzaine de chorégraphies. Formée à la technique anglo-saxonne, influencée par Merce Cunningham, elle n'oublie pas qu'elle est d'abord égyptienne, à la recherche d'un langage personnel entre ces diverses influences et sa propre culture, sans jamais tomber dans le cliché ou le folklore.

AHMAD COMPAORÉ : composition, musique live
D'origine égypto-burkinabé, Ahmad Compaoré est un musicien en liberté. Il confirme son talent singulier aux côtés de Fred Frith, Marc Ribot, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Barre Phillips, Camel Zekri ou la chorégraphe égyptienne Karima Mansour. Dans un souci permanent d'exploration et de découverte, il partage sa créativité entre danse, théâtre et cinéma. Deux fois lauréat Culturesfrance "Hors Les Murs", il a séjourné en Inde et au Japon dans le cadre de résidences de création. Hors de tout cloisonnement, il mène en parallèle les expériences les plus extrêmes dans la musique expérimentale et improvisée, le jazz et la fusion.